Content View Hits : 882115
Home About JMP


The Society for Mathematical Psychology promotes the advancement and communication of research in mathematical psychology and related disciplines. Mathematical psychology is broadly defined to include work of a theoretical character that uses mathematical methods, formal logic, or computer simulation. The Society journal is the Journal of Mathematical Psychology.

The Journal of Mathematical Psychology publishes research articles, monographs and reviews, notes and comments, and book reviews in all areas of mathematical and theoretical psychology. Empirical research directly relevant to theoretical questions within psychology is welcome. Papers on fundamental measurement and on mathematical models, such as those based on connectionist, other neural network, or information processing concepts, continue to be of special interest to the journal. Also welcome are theoretical work and empirical research bearing on models in such areas as animal behavior, artificial intelligence and computer simulation of psychological processes, decision theory, human factors and human computer interaction, learning and memory, motivational dynamics, problem solving, psycholinguistics, psychophysics, psychometrics (if the work bears on the explication of psychological concepts or process models), and sensation and perception.
Online: The Journal of Mathematical Psychology
Online Submission to Journal of Mathematical Psychology: submission portal (
Guidelines for Tutorial Articles in Journal of Mathematical Psychology: tutorialstatement.pdf



Philip L. Smith, University of Melbourne

Associate Editors

Jean-Paul Doignon, Université Libre de Bruxelles
Ehtibar Dzhafarov, Purdue University
Andrew Heathcote, The University of Newcastle
Matt Jones, University of Colorado Boulder
Michel Regenwetter, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Francis Tuerlinckx, KU Leuven
Peter Wakker, Erasmus Universiteit
Jun Zhang, University of Michigan

Editorial Advisory Board

William Batchelder, University of California, Irvine
Jerome R. Busemeyer, Indiana University
Hans Colonius, University of Oldenburg
Jean-Claude Falmagne, University of California, Irvine
A. A. J. Marley, University of Victoria
Jay I. Myung, Ohio State University
Richard Schweickert, Purdue University
Richard M. Shiffrin, Indiana University
James T. Townsend, Indiana University

Consulting Editors

F. Gregory Ashby, University of California at Santa Barbara
Rafal Bogacz, University of Oxford
Scott Brown, The University of Newcastle
David Budescu, Fordham University
Richard A. Chechile, Tufts University
Clinton Davis-Stober, University of Missouri
Lawrence DeCarlo, Columbia University
Adele Diederich, Jacobs University Bremen
Marc Howard, Boston University
Geoffrey Iverson, University of California, Irvine
Janne Kujala, University of Jyväskylä
Michael D. Lee, University of California, Irvine
Stephan Lewandowsky, University of Bristol
Daniel Little, University of Melbourne
Richard Morey, University of Groningen
Daniel Navarro, University of Adelaide
Richard W.J. Neufeld, Western University
Mark Pitt, Ohio State University
Zygmunt Pizlo, Purdue University
Roger Ratcliff, Ohio State University
Fred S. Roberts, Rutgers University
Jeffrey N. Rouder, University of Missouri
Mark Steyvers, University of California, Irvine
Reinhard Suck, Universität Osnabrück
Robin D. Thomas, Miami University
Jennifer Trueblood, University of California, Irvine
Marius Usher, Tel-Aviv University
Trisha Van Zandt, Ohio State University
Joachim Vandekerckhove, University of California, Irvine
Eric-Jan Wagenmakers, Universiteit van Amsterdam

Tutorial Editor

Eric-Jan Wagenmakers, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Book Review Editor

Adele Diederich, Jacobs University Bremen, Germany


Past Editors of Journal of Mathematical Psychology

  • 1964-1970 Richard C. Atkinson
  • 1971-1974 J. E. Keith Smith
  • 1975-1975 Wm. H. Batcheler and R. Duncan Luce
  • 1976-1979 Wm. H. Batchelder
  • 1980-1984 A. A. J. Marley
  • 1985-1989 James T. Townsend
  • 1990-1994 Thomas S. Wallsten
  • 1995-2000 Hans Colonius
  • 2001-2004 Richard Schweickert
  • 2005-2009 Jerome Busemeyer
  • 2010-2014 Jay I. Myung