This site uses cookies

By using this site, you consent to our use of cookies. You can view our terms and conditions for more information.

May 10, 2023

Call For Submissions: Journal of Cognitive Science

Call For Submissions

Journal of Cognitive Science is an official journal of the International Association for Cognitive Science (IACS, and the Institute for Cognitive Science at Seoul National University. It is published quarterly by the Institute for Cognitive Science at Seoul National University, located in Seoul, Korea. The Association currently consists of member societies of different countries such as Australia, China, Japan, Korea, and European Union. However, paper submission by anyone in the whole world is welcome at any time. Its main concern is to showcase research articles of the highest quality and significance within the disciplines of cognitive science, including, but not limited to, philosophy, psychology, linguistics, artificial intelligence, neuroscience, aesthetics, anthropology, and education, insofar as it is deemed to be of interest to those who pursue the study of mind. In particular, we would like to encourage submissions that cross the traditional disciplinary boundaries. 

Submission Guidelines: 
All submissions must be in English, written clearly and in sufficient detail so that referees can assess the merits of the work. Papers should be no longer than 10,000 words and should conform to the JCS style guide. (JCS style guide is distributed, if requested, via email.) Papers will be received anytime and processed as promptly as possible. All authors should send an electronic copy (MS word) to Each submission will be sent to two or three reviewers. The reviews will be forwarded to the authors, who will then have an opportunity to make revisions if warranted. 

Our articles are indexed in the following databases: 
  • Google Scholar
  • ESCI (Emerging Sources Citation Index, Thomson Reuters)
  • KCI (KoreaCitation Index)
Aims & Scope:The Journal of Cognitive Science (JCS) is published quarterly on 31 March, 30 June, 30 September, and 31 December (founded in 2000) as the official journal of International Association for Cognitive Science (IACS) by the Institute for Cognitive Science at Seoul National University. It is a SCOPUS, ESCI, EBSCO, and KCI journal. It aims to publish research articles of the highest quality and significance within the disciplines that form cognitive science, including philosophy, psychology, linguistics, artificial intelligence, neuroscience, anthropology, and education for Interdisciplinary Journal. Submissions that cross traditional disciplinary boundaries in either themes or methods are especially encouraged. AI-associated Cognitive Science will be newly reinforced and papers in this area are encouraged to be submitted. 

Editorial Board: 
  • Editor-in-Chief:  Chungmin Lee, Seoul National University 
  • Editors:
    • Cameron Buckner, University of Houston 
    • Sook Whan Cho, The State University of New York at Stony Brook, 
    • Songdo Alberto Greco, University of Genova 
    • Koiti Hasida, University of Tokyo AI 
  • Assistant Editor: Taikyeong Jeong, Hallym University 
The Editorial Board and Advisory Editorial Board: 
Hojjat Adeli, The Ohio State University 
Kenneth A. Augustyn, Michigan Technological University 
Bruno G. Bara, University of Turin 
Ned Block, New York University 
David Chalmers, Australian National University 
Ivan Enrici, University of Turin 
Peter Gärdenfors, Lund University, Sweden 
Merrill Garrett, University of Arizona 
Dedre Gentner, Northwestern University 
Etsuko Harada, University of Tsukuba, Japan 
Hidehito Honda, Otemon Gakuin University 
Joonhwan Lee, Seoul National University 
Tania Ionin, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign 
Kiwako Ito, The University of Newcastle (UON) 
Hong-Gee Kim, Seoul National University 
Kihyeon Kim, Seoul National University 
Gary Geunbae Lee, Pohang University of Science and Technology 
Martha Lewis, University of Bristol 
Chen Lin, Chinese Academy of Science 
Charles Ling, Western Ontario University, Canada 
Edouard Machery, University of Pittsburgh 
Asifa Majid, University of York 
Klaus Manizer, Technical University of Munich 
Tetsuro Matsuzawa, Kyoto University 
Reiko Mazuka, Duke University 
Louise McNally, Pompeu Fabra University 
Yasuhiro Shirai, Case Western Reserve University 
Hua Shu, Beijing Normal University 
Peter Slezak, The University of New South Wales 
Hyeon-joo Song, Yonsei University 
Li-Hai Tan, Shenzhen Institute of Neuroscience 
Paul Thagard, University of Waterloo, Canada 
Markus Werning, Ruhr University Bochum 
Byoung-Tak Zhang, Seoul National University 
Linmin Zhang, New York University, Shanghai